Vehicular Manslaughter Defense
Manslaughter Second Degree with a Motor Vehicle
If you have been accused of or arrested for a violent criminal offense such as vehicular manslaughter, then the stakes are high. Now is the time to obtain an experienced and aggressive defense lawyer who has represented clients in these types of cases and knows the criminal justice system inside and out.
Here at Dolan Law Firm, we defend clients against all types of criminal charges and our main goal is to protect your rights against the prosecution. Let us be your leg to stand on when you need it most. Contact our Hamden office immediately following your arrest so we can begin building your defense.
Avoiding a Felony Conviction
Under the Connecticut Penal Code Sec. 53a-56b, manslaughter in the second degree with motor vehicle is considered to be a Class C felony. In order to be found guilty of this charge, the prosecution must be able to prove that you were doing one of the following which caused the death of another person:
- Acting recklessly, resulting in the death of another person
- Driving under the influence of alcohol
- Driving under the influence of a drug
Ultimately, if you caused the accident which resulted in loss of life and they find any illegal substance in your blood, then you could be at risk of being charged with vehicular manslaughter.
What are the penalties?
Involuntary manslaughter typically carries with it a 10 to 16 month prison sentence, which increases if the act was committed with an automobile and/or involved reckless conduct. The maximum prison sentence for this crime is 10 years. Another typical punishment for this crime includes a one year license suspension and the usage of an ignition interlock (breathalyzer) device in your vehicle for two years.
So what are you waiting for? Fight for your license and your freedom by taking steps to protect against a felony criminal conviction. The first step is to hire a trusted and reliable criminal defense attorney from our firm to be your strength in your time of need.
Misconduct With a Motor Vehicle
In Connecticut, you can also be charged with misconduct with a motor vehicle, which is categorized as a Class D felony and is punishable by up to 5 years in prison, which we want to help you avoid at all costs. This crime entails criminal negligence (as opposed to reckless conduct) in the operation of a motor vehicle, which ultimately leads to someone else’s death. Recklessness is behaving dangerously with knowledge of the risks, while criminal negligence is action without awareness of the risks. These discrepancies can make a big difference in your case. For more information on these penal code offenses and how to minimize or eliminate your charges, be sure to get in touch with a criminal lawyer at our firm today.
Experienced Trial Lawyers Ready to Fight for You
Our legal team is intimately familiar with Connecticut criminal law and we know how to effectively conduct an investigation to find flaws in the prosecution’s case. Just because there are formal charges against you does not mean that they actually have convicting evidence to support their claims. So don’t give up! Let us fight to clear your name and your charges. Call us today to discuss your vehicular manslaughter case and find out how we can help lessen or eliminate your charges.