Criminal Defense - Weapons Charge Lawyer
Arrested for a Weapons Charge in Connecticut?
If you were arrested for a weapons charge, then you are probably experiencing a very difficult time in your life. Weapon offenses in the state of Connecticut are often charged as serious felonies, particularly in conjunction with another felony that was being committed at the time. In some situations, the weapon involved may additionally be illegal to own.
There are also times, however, when the possession of the firearm was not intentional or the weapon was used in an act of defense. Alternatively, you may have made a mistake that you are ready to take responsibility for. Regardless of the circumstances, Dolan Law Firm is on your side and ready to fight on your behalf. We can help you compile a solid case and prepare you for each step of the legal process.
Connecticut weapons laws are very serious and should be given adequate attention. For example, if you are caught in possession of a deadly weapon, you are in danger of receiving a felony conviction and up to 3 years in prison. This is a situation that we want to help you avoid at all costs.
You may face serious consequences for the following illegal actions of weapons:
The simple possession of an illegal weapon can lead to significant charges, and this is a charge that is frequently joined with other criminal charges. It is essential to have a strong and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney at your side to build a persuasive defense and protect your rights!
Sentencing for Weapons Charges in Connecticut
Unlawful discharge of a firearm is defined as intentionally, negligently, or carelessly discharging a firearm in a way that is likely to cause harm to people, domestic animals, or property. This is a Class C misdemeanor, as per CT General Statues §52-203. This may entail up to 3 months in jail and up to $500 in fines. To be convicted of this crime, a prosecutor must prove that you intentionally fired your weapon, but not that you fired it with intent to injure someone or damage property.
Carrying a firearm under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to a $1,000 fine and up to 6 months in jail. However, hunting with a firearm while under the influence is a Class A misdemeanor. In this case, you may be facing up to 1 year in prison and up to $2000 in fines.
In addition, it is a Class B misdemeanor to brandish, sell, or distribute a facsimile firearm. A facsimile firearm is defined as a non-functional replica or representation of a firearm, which could reasonably be perceived as a genuine firearm. Facsimile firearms are prohibited except in cases of self-defense.
Some examples of Class D misdemeanors involving firearms (punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a $250 fine) include stealing a firearm, criminal possession of a firearm, criminally negligent storage of a firearm, and possession of a weapon on school grounds. A complete list of Connecticut laws pertaining to firearms can be found here. At your free consultation, Attorney Dolan can give you more information on the severity of your charge and the law behind it.
Illegal weapons are not limited to firearms. In the state of Connecticut, it is also illegal to carry blades longer than four inches, metal knuckles, BB guns, martial arts weapons, crossbows, and any other deadly instrument, as per Section (a) of CT General Statutes §52-206. A deadly weapons charge regarding one of these instruments can be a felony accusation, for which conviction may entail a fine of up to $500 and up to 3 years in prison. However, there are also instances in which carrying these weapons is permitted, such as for knife shows, historic reenactments, and lawful transportation of the item from one place to another. More information on this can be found in Section (b) of §52-206.
It is important to note that possession of a firearm or assault weapon while committing a felony will increase one’s prison sentence for that felony. If one is convicted of a Class A, B, or C felony, possession of a firearm will add a mandatory 5 years onto one’s sentence. If the instrument is an assault weapon, 8 years will be added rather than 5.
Seek Representation from a Connecticut Criminal Lawyer
The criminal justice system makes it very difficult to represent yourself, and Connecticut laws are very strict when it comes to weapons charges. Increase your chances of success by hiring our firm to stand by your side and vigorously protect your best interests. At Dolan Law Firm, we have the tools and experience to provide you with a positive chance of lowering or dropping your weapons charges. Give us a call to get started on your case or receive a free case evaluation.