Phone

(203) 230-1678
(203) 430-9768

 

Address

Locations in CT

 

Criminal Defense - Rape Lawyer

Charged with rape in Connecticut? Get help now.

Rape crimes are usually charged as felonies and may be formally called sexual assault, sexual battery, criminal sexual conduct, or criminal sexual penetration. Rape charges may include statutory rape, oral sex, sexual touching without the other person’s consent, or sexual abuse of a child. Whatever the specifics of the evidence in the rape charge, you need to address these accusations quickly and aggressively.

When you hire Dolan Law Firm, you work directly with a highly skilled criminal defense attorney whose case results and testimonials speak to his dedication and winning defense strategies. We are always zealous in protecting the rights of those we represent, and committed to fighting for your freedom.

Dos and Don’ts After Being Charged with a Sex Crime

If you are being charged with rape or a similar sex crime, here are some practical tips to consider to help maximize the effectiveness of your defense:

  • Do hire legal counsel right away.
  • Do collect any physical evidence related to the event in question, such as clothing and photographs.
  • Do collect any relevant documentation such as emails, voicemails, letters, text messages, or GPS data, especially if this evidence proves you were not at the location where the crime occurred.
  • Do create a list of possible witnesses and their contact information.

Here are some things to avoid after an accusation:

  • Don’t attempt to contact the victim in any way.
  • Don’t talk to police or investigators without your attorney present.
  • Don’t agree to any non-mandatory testing, even if you think it will prove your innocence.
  • Don’t hand over any evidence to law enforcement without consulting your lawyer.
  • Don’t allow access to your home, office or vehicle without first getting legal representation.

Sentencing for Sexual Assault in Connecticut

Connecticut is strict when it comes to sexual assault laws, especially if the victim is under the age of consent.

1. Sexual assault in the first degree is charged when sexual contact occurs and:

(a) the perpetrator uses force or threatens force

(b) the victim is under 13 years of age and the perpetrator is over 2 years older than them

(c) the victim was mentally incapacitated to the extent that they could not consent to sexual intercourse

(d) the perpetrator commits sexual assault in the second degree (see below) and the offender is aided by 2 or more people present

The above crimes will generally be charged as Class B felonies, with 2 exceptions. First degree sexual assault is charged as a Class A felony if: the perpetrator commits act (a) and the victim is under 16 years old, or the the perpetrator commits act (b). These crimes carry a mandatory minimum prison sentence of 10 years if the victim is under 10 years old, and a mandatory minimum of 5 years if the victim is under 16. However, sentencing for these crimes typically includes 25-60 years in prison and a maximum fine of $20,000.

Instances (c), (d), and (a) where the victim is of consenting age are charged as Class B felonies. They may carry 1-20 years in prison and a maximum fine of $15,000.

2. Sexual assault in the second degree can be charged when:

(a) the victim is mentally incapacitated due to a disability or disease

(b) the victim is physically helpless

(c) the victim is 13-16 years old and the perpetrator is more than 3 years older than them

(d) the perpetrator is a guardian or otherwise responsible for the welfare of the victim, and the victim is under 18 years of age

(e) the perpetrator is a supervisor, teacher, coach, therapist, or doctor, or in some other position of power, authority, or supervision

(f) the perpetrator accomplishes sexual contact under the false pretense that the contact is for a bona fide medical purpose

Sexual assault in the second degree is a Class C felony, unless the victim is under 16 years old, in which case the crime is charged as a Class B felony. Any second degree sexual assault ruling will come with a mandatory minimum 9 months in prison. The Class B felony may carry 1-20 years in prison and a maximum fine of $15,000, whereas the Class C felony may carry 1-10 years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000. Second degree sexual assault involves some nuances regarding the age of the perpetrator and victim, which can be discussed with your lawyer and are further explained here.

3. Sexual assault in the third degree is charged when:

(a) the perpetrator uses force or the threat of force to compel another person to submit to sexual contact

(b) the perpetrator engages in sexual intercourse with someone whom they know they are related to by one of these degrees of kin

If the victim is under 16, third degree sexual assault is a Class C felony and the punishment may entail 1-10 years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000. Otherwise, this is a Class D felony and the sentence may include 1-5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

4. Sexual assault in the fourth degree can be charged when:

(a) the victim is mentally incapacitated due to a disability or disease

(b) the victim is physically helpless

(c) the victim is under 13 years old and the perpetrator is more than 2 years older than them

(d) the victim is 13-16 years old and the perpetrator is more than 3 years older than them

(e) the perpetrator is a guardian or otherwise responsible for the welfare of the victim, and the victim is under 18 years of age

(f) the perpetrator is a supervisor, teacher, doctor, or in some other position of power, authority, or supervision over the victim

(g) the perpetrator accomplishes sexual contact under the false pretense that the contact is for a bona fide medical purpose

(h) the perpetrator submits the victim to sexual contact without their consent

(i) the perpetrator engages in sexual contact with an animal or dead body

If the victim is under 16, this is a Class D felony and punishable by 1-5 years in prison and a fine of $5,000. If the victim is above the age of consent, fourth degree sexual assault is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1 year in prison and a maximum fine of $1,000. Many of the criteria for fourth degree and second degree sexual assault are the same. The degree a person is charged with will depend on other factors, such as the nature of the sexual activity.

Our Hamden criminal attorney is ready to help you fight back.

A rape charge is a serious matter that could lead to very severe consequences, including a long prison term and the requirement to register as a sex offender for life. As with all serious violent felonies, there is a risk of facing lifetime imprisonment for those with prior convictions. Therefore, it is important to enlist the help of a highly skilled and proficient lawyer as soon as possible. Michael Dolan will fight for your liberty by investigating every avenue, including the possibility of false accusations, the alleged victim being involved in some type of retaliation against you, or evidence proving that you have a legitimate alibi.

At Dolan Law Firm, we promise to stay by your side and fight hard for your freedom. Our aggressive defense strategies have achieved many significant victories in tough cases and we are ready to get to work on your defense now. Schedule a free consultation today.