Criminal Defense - Burglary
Facing theft crime charges in Connecticut?
Burglary is a serious charge and often relates to stealing something from a home. However, unlawfully entering houses, businesses, and other buildings with intent to commit a felony all qualify as a burglary.
What is ‘burglary’?
Connecticut General Statutes Title 53a states in relevant par that a burglar is any person who enters or stays in a building unlawfully while having the intention of committing a crime therein. Burglary offenses can be much more penal if there is the presence of a weapon or if bodily harm is a result of the crime.
Penalties for Burglary in New Haven, CT
Burglary offenses could result in charges for a Class B, C or D felony depending on the degree of burglary offense. A breakdown of the penalties by the degree of burglary includes:
First Degree Burglary in CT: This crime is categorized as a Class B felony and it is punishable by 5-20 years in prison, as well as a fine as steep as $20,000. A person could be tried for a first degree burglary offense if:
(a) they unlawfully enter or remain in a building with the intention of committing a crime while being armed with explosive, a deadly weapon, or dangerous instrument
(b) they unlawfully enter or remain in a building with the intention of committing a crime and, in the course of committing said crime, knowingly or recklessly inflict or attempt to inflict bodily harm on someone
(c) they unlawfully enter or remain in a dwelling at night with the intention of committing a crime
Second Degree Burglary in CT: This crime is categorized as a Class C felony and it could result in a 1-10 year prison sentence along with a fine up to $10,000. A second degree burglary offense could occur if a person enters or remains unlawfully in a dwelling with intent to commit a crime therein, while someone not participating in the crime is present inside the dwelling. Burglary in the second degree with a firearm is an alternative offense that can be charged if the burglar uses or threatens the use of a firearm. This is still a class C felony, but with a non-suspendible incarceration minimum of 1 year.
Third Degree Burglary in CT: This crime is categorized as a Class D felony which could lead to a 1-5 year prison sentence and a fine of up to $5,000. Third degree burglary charges involve the basic offense of entering or remaining unlawfully in a building with the intent of committing a crime. But, as with a second degree burglary, burglary in the third degree with a firearm is an alternative offense that can be charged if the burglar uses or threatens the use of a firearm. This is still a class D felony, but with a non-suspendible incarceration minimum of 1 year.
These penalties can change with the presence of weapons or if there are other aggravating factors involved. All burglary offenses are generally charged as felonies in the state of Connecticut, which is why you need to team up with an aggressive criminal attorney from Dolan Law Firm. There are several defenses that you can make when fighting against your charges. Oftentimes, there is a mistake in the accusations and you actually had a right to be in the building. You can also fight against the charges if the building is not considered a “dwelling.” Alternatively, a building being abandoned is an affirmative defense. Regardless of the specific circumstances of your case, it is critical to have an experienced criminal defense lawyer on your side to help get your charges reduced or dropped.
Looking for a lawyer for your burglary case in Connecticut?
If you are facing burglary charges or any other theft crime charges, Dolan Law Firm has the knowledge and skill necessary to help you defend against your charges. Contact us today to schedule your free case evaluation and see how we will assist you in your case!